Difference Between State And Union Territory

The territory of the states and the territory of the union are both sovereign to the same nation. One way of thinking about the division of a country is into individual states and union territories.

Although they are both considered to be part of the same nation, there are significant differences between the two. What sets them apart, and how they are explained, are detailed below.

Union Territory

Due to the lack of a functioning central authority, the regions of the Union cannot be considered separate entities. The federal government still controls them. For instance, union territories are subject to the laws & policies of the Indian central government.

Throughout India’s union territories, there is a single administrator or lieutenant governor, each of whom is appointed by the country’s president. The lieutenant governor (LG) is the chief executive of the union territories of Andaman & Nicobar, Delhi, and Pondicherry. Daman, Haveli, Dada, and Chandigarh all have government officers who are responsible for administrative tasks.

A Legislative Assembly and a Council of Ministers are not always present in Union Territories. There is a separate Legislative Assembly & Council of Ministers in both Delhi and Pondicherry. However, these two have certain rights, although extremely restricted ones.

The President’s signature is required on any legislation enacted by these bodies. Plus, to pass some exceptional laws, they must have permission from the federal government.

Geographical reasons

Although geographically far from the rest of India, certain areas were nevertheless considered to be legally a part of the country. So, these areas can’t be regarded as a part of a neighboring state.

The population and land area are also too tiny to warrant statehood on their own. As a result, territories like Andaman, Nicobar, and Lakshadweep are subject to fewer regulations than Union Territories.

Cultural reasons

Similar cultural considerations went into the establishment of the Union Territories. Union territories like Dadar, Nagar Haveli, & Pondicherry exist to protect the distinct cultural traditions of those areas.

For a considerable period, European nations and France dominated these areas. As a result, you’ll find many parallels between our society and theirs here. Unique to Pondicherry is the fact that each of its four districts borders a different state.

Mahe is located close to Kerala, whereas Yanam is in Andhra Pradesh, and Pondicherry & Karaikal are in Tamil Nadu. The town’s status as a union territory was the best option under the circumstances.

State Territory

State territory is indeed a politically autonomous sub-unit of a state, with its own legislative and executive branches. The state is run by a chief minister who is chosen by the popular vote. When compared to union territories, its size and population are staggering. Parliament cannot legislate on behalf of the states. A state’s governor serves as the state’s chief executive.

Difference between State and Union Territory

State And Union Territory of India
Image Credit: MapsofIndia

State Territory– It is a self-governing entity ruled by a government chosen by its citizens.

Union Territory – As such, it is under the jurisdiction of the federal government and has no autonomy of its own.

State Territory– It is huge in area

Union Territory – It is smaller in area

State Territory – Union territories often have larger populations.

Union Territory– Population density is lower than in comparable state territories.

State Territory – Voting takes place

Union Territory – In this system, elections are never held.

State Territory– Run by the head of government.

Union Territory – This function is delegated to the lieutenant governor.

State Territory-The Chief Minister of India is chosen by the people at large.

Union Territory – The president makes the appointment of the administrator.

Union Territory – A lieutenant governor serves as the second-highest official in a state or territory under the control of the federal government.

State Territory– Governmental control is exercised by a body chosen by the people.

Union Territory – It is ruled by Washington, DC since it has no autonomous government of its own.

State Territory– The Governor is in charge.

Union Territory– To put it simply, the president is in charge.

State Territory– This entity is more powerful than any state or territory in the union.

Union Territory – The government at the federal level holds all the cards.

State Territory– India is divided into 29 different states and union territories.

Union Territory – A total of nine territories make up the Union.

State Territory – Example Haryana, Punjab, Goa, Assam, etc

Union Territory – Examples Chandigarh, Pondicherry, Delhi, etc

Page Contents