Jammu and Kashmir is a union territory of India (and, until Oct. 31, 2019, it is a state in the northern region of the Indian subcontinent, focused on the flatlands about Jammu to its south as well as the Kashmir Vale to the north. It is divided into two parts: Jammu and Kashmir and the rest of the Indian subcontinent. The union territory is a part of the greater area of Kashmir that has been a source of contention between India, Pakistan, & China since the division of this subcontinent and has been a source of tension between the three countries.

 The passage of legislation in August 2019 paved the way for the demotion of Jammu & Kashmir from this statehood to its union territory status, as well as the separation of a portion of the state called the Ladakh into a distinct union territory from the rest.

Listing for Jammu & Kashmir State: